What is the statute of limitations to bring a New York/New Jersey construction accident case?
In New York, the statute of limitations is three years from the date of the accident. In New Jersey, it’s generally two years from the date of the accident. But in both New York and New Jersey, you have to be careful if there’s a municipal or government entity involved. In that case, both states require a notice of claim to be filed within 90 days of the accident, and the actual statute of limitations for filing a claim is less. In New York, it can be one year and 90 days from the occurrence, New Jersey is still the two-year statute.