How Much Time Do You Have to Report a Car Accident?
Most drivers know that they should contact their auto insurance carriers after they have had an accident. Reporting a car accident and collecting damages to compensate you for losses and injuries, however, often requires more than just reporting the accident to an insurance company.
The law firm of Kantrowitz, Goldhamer & Graifman counsels drivers and their passengers who’ve suffered injuries in auto crashes. We also represent injured parties in lawsuits to recover the largest available damages awards. If this has happened to you, you can improve your opportunity to recover the full amount of your losses if you follow a few simple guidelines:
Report the accident to the local police immediately.
Call or ask a witness to call the local police as soon as you possibly can after an auto accident. In addition to preparing their accident report, the police will ensure everyone’s safety after an accident and will contact emergency medical assistance to help injured parties.
Report the accident to the Department of Motor Vehicles within ten days.
Ask the police how you can get a copy of their accident report.
If any person involved in the accident suffers losses or injuries that are valued at $1,000 or more, New York State law requires every driver who was involved to file a copy of the police report along with an accident notice form with the New York Department of Motor Vehicles– no more than 10 days after the collision.
If you or your passengers are unable to file a DMV report, ask someone for help to file the necessary paperwork as soon as is possible. Your failure to file the required DMV report can result in fines and the suspension of your driving privileges.
Report the accident to your auto insurance company promptly.
You should promptly contact your auto insurance company to initiate an accident claim. Any delays in contacting your insurance company can jeopardize your coverage. Make sure you exchange information with the other parties of the accident, as your insurance company will likely need that information to process your claims.
Retain and report the accident to a car accident attorney as soon as is possible.
A knowledgeable and experienced car accident lawyer will help you to coordinate and file all of the required reports on or before the deadline.
In New York State, you have three years to file a lawsuit to recover compensation for your losses and injuries. If they are serious or significant, you will have a better chance to recover the full measure of your damages if you retain a lawyer.
They can review and confirm all of the facts that show which party bears responsibility for causing the accident– before any evidence dissipates or witness memories fade over time.
Moreover, you will lose your chance to file a lawsuit if you miss the three-year deadline.
Report to your doctor and get medical treatment for injuries.
Schedule an appointment for a thorough physical exam soon after an accident, even if you do not believe you are injured. Some car crash injuries may not be apparent and will not become apparent several days or weeks after an accident.
If you delay seeking treatment, the negligent party and their insurance company can argue that intervening circumstances caused your injuries and that they should not be held liable for injuries that he or she did not cause.
Make sure you follow all your physician’s instructions and recommendations after an accident for proper recovery and recuperation from your injuries.
Call KGG’s Automobile and Injury Attorneys
If you have any additional questions, please see our website or call us at your earliest convenience. Our attorneys will review your case and provide practical guidance on what information should be included in the required reports. We can also file your auto accident lawsuit before the expiration of the statute of limitations and fight aggressively to get you the damages you deserve.